My Dear Friend, Time, an installation by Ellen (Jing) Xu

You are here

37th Annual Betty Bowen Award

We look forward to safely returning to in-person instruction and activities this autumn quarter. Current and prospective students please visit our COVID-19 Updates pages.
Submitted on September 4, 2015 - 10:38am

Eirik Johnson (BFA 1997) was selected for the Special Recognition Award in the amount of $2,500. Read more about this year’s Betty Bowen winners in this September 22 SAM blog post.


On August 31, 2015, the Seattle Art Museum announced the six finalists for the 37th Annual Betty Bowen Award. Two of the six, selected from 537 applications, are School alumni: Eirik Johnson (BFA 1997) and Samantha Scherer (MFA 1997). Congratulations! The winner will be announced in mid-September, and that person has an exhibition at Seattle Art Museum, which opens on November 19. Read more about the award, the selection process, and the finalists in this press release.

News Category: