Building Resonance (echo) by Benjamin Gale-Schreck

You are here

AFALA Evening Amazes

Submitted on May 8, 2017 - 4:37pm
Jenny Sabin speaks at 2017 Anne Focke Arts Leadership Award evening
Jenny Sabin speaks at 2017 Anne Focke Arts Leadership Award evening

What a night! The School hosted its first Anne Focke Arts Leadership Award event on April 29. We honored 2017 award winner Beth Sellars, heard from alum Jenny Sabin about some incredible recent projects, and followed the AFALA tradition of using the event to further support the arts. Over $62,000 was raised to provide funding for our graduate students.

Information about Beth Sellars and the history of the award, which began in 2005, may be found in our earlier news post. Here we want to acknowledge the many people who were involved in making the evening a success.


Carole Fuller, Chair
Gayle Jack
Layne Kleinart
Catharina Manchanda
George & Alice McCain
Lucy Pruzan
Julie Speidel
Anne Traver
Michael Von Korff


Merith Bennett, Constituency Relations Officer (event coordination)
Alexandra Colley, Advancement Assistant (event coordination)
Ji Huang, IVA student (award)
Emma Teal Laukitis, MDes student (design)
Clare Ortblad, MDes student (design)
Mark Rector, IT Director (audio-visual)


Greg Kucera
Larry Yocom


George Suyama
Suyama Peterson Deguchi


John Barratt, Teague
Judi Clark
Ken Fry, Microsoft
Carole Fuller
Gayle Jack
Jack & Layne Kleinart
Josh Kornfeld, Tactile
Greg Kucera & Larry Yocom
George & Alice McCain
Herb & Lucy Pruzan
Åsa Sandlund
Julie Speidel
George Suyama, Suyama Peterson Deguchi
Tim Tomlinson
Anne Traver
Michael Von Korff & Linda LeResche

Thank you to everyone who helped make this event a reality and to those who made donations to support graduate students.

View photos of the evening.