2016 Master of Design installations at Henry Art Gallery

You are here

Artist Trust Awards

We look forward to safely returning to in-person instruction and activities this autumn quarter. Current and prospective students please visit our COVID-19 Updates pages.
Submitted on June 16, 2019 - 11:46am

During the first part of June, Artist Trust announced the 2019 recipients for some of their major awards. Congratulations to everyone!

Irving and Yvonne Twining Humber Award

Sherry Markovitz (MFA 1975) was selected for this lifetime achievement award. It is "given annually to a Washington State self-identified woman visual artist, age 60 or over, who has dedicated 25 years or more to creating art." Read the press release.


Joe Feddersen (BFA 1983) and Kristen Ramirez (MFA 2004) each received a fellowship, which are "merit-based awards providing support to practicing professional artists of exceptional talent and ability residing in Washington State." Another recipient, Romson Bustillo, taught for us during spring quarter. Part of his fellowship is the new Yayasan Bali Purnati Residency, which was created in partnership with Artist Trust founding director David Mendoza (BFA 1967). Read the press release.