At the Circus: The Spanish Walk by Henri de Toulouse-Lautrec

You are here

Anne Focke Arts Leadership Award Recipient

Submitted on March 3, 2019 - 3:00am
Steve Kaneko
Steve Kaneko

The biennial Anne Focke Arts Leadership Award is offered by the School of Art + Art History + Design at the University of Washington to recognize individuals who pave the way for art, art history, or design to enliven and strengthen our community through their visionary and active leadership.

2019 Award

The School is pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2019 Anne Focke Arts Leadership Award is Steve Kaneko. With a passion for providing pathways for growth to generations of emerging talent, he embodies the power of arts leadership.

As a Fellow of the Industrial Designers Society of America and alum of the School of Art + Art History + Design, Kaneko has made a name for himself as a Partner Director of Design at Microsoft. He oversees a multidisciplinary team made up of designers, artists, researchers, and engineers who work to create next generation experiences that are redefining the way people interact with their environments, the things in them, and each other.

Kaneko has earned over fifty international design awards, and his design of the Microsoft Mouse 2.0 is part of the permanent collection at the Museum of Modern Art in New York. ID Magazine recognized Kaneko as one of the forty most influential designers in the field of technology.

2019 Event

A celebratory dinner honoring Steve Kaneko and supporting the Jacob Lawrence Gallery in the School of Art + Art History + Design takes place on April 13. Tickets are available now. Questions may be directed to Merith Bennett at or 206-543-0971.


Named for Anne Focke, an alum­ who exemplifies the traits of arts leadership, this is a non-cash award organized by the School’s Advisory Board and other community leaders. The Anne Focke Arts Leadership Award was offered four times by 911 Media Arts and since 2017 has been offered by the School, signifying its commitment to preparing students for both professional and leadership roles. Previous awardees are Anne Focke, Richard Andrews, Helen Gurvich, Ed Marquand, and Beth Sellars.