Inheritance by Katherine Groesbeck

You are here

Winter 2020 Newsletter

Featured Stories

Student Voices

Jacob Lawrence Gallery

Other News

Professor Emerita Patti Warashina has been selected as the 2020 Visionary Award Recipient in conjunction with the Smithsonian Craft Show.

Associate Professor Marek Wieczorek will soon be a NIAS Fellow at the Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities and Social Sciences, and he is working on a curatorial project with the Reina Sofia Museum in Madrid, Spain.

Professor Emerita Patricia Failing has received a Creative Capital | Andy Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant to support her article about Henry Ghent (1926–2009).

Professor Ellen Garvens has work in a two-person exhibition exhibition at the Missoula Art Museum through March 7.

Associate Professor Kristine Matthews, a number of her students, and her Studio Matthews have won awards for their design of the OMA&D 50th Anniversary exhibition: one from Communication Arts in their 2019 competition for environmental design and two from the University & College Designers Association (Award of Excellence for Exhibit/Display Graphics and a Gold Award for Student Classroom Work or Assignments).

Associate Professor Doug Jeck's experience at Pilchuck Glass School last summer is included in a recent American Craft article.

Professor Philip Govedare has a solo exhibition of new paintings at Winston Wächter Fine Art Seattle, which is on view through February 28.

Assistant Professor Whitney Lynn and alum Katie Miller were selected to create temporary artworks for FLOW 2020 in Seattle.

Alum Max Waugh won the black & white category in the 2019 Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition hosted by the Natural History Museum in London.

Alum W. Scott Trimble has unveiled two new public artworks at the Seattle City Light North Service Center.

We are sad to report that alum Charles "Larry" Heald passed away in early October.

Read all alumni news since our last newsletter: October, November, December, and January.


Merith Bennett, Constituency Relations Officer,

Jeanette Mills, Newsletter Writer/Editor,