Rojava by Ben Dunn

You are here

ART 400 A: Interdisciplinary Visual Arts Senior Studio

Meeting Time: 
TTh 2:30pm - 5:20pm
Location: 
ART 204
SLN: 
10513
Instructor:
Claire Cowie
Claire Cowie

Syllabus Description:

                                 400 show.jpgIVA.2.JPGAu16.jpg

Autumn 2017 Tu/Th 2:30 – 5:20pm Room 204 Art Building 5 credits

Course Overview
This course focuses on the development of exhibition-quality artwork, culminating in a group show at the UW Sand Point Gallery. Students design their own projects and plan all stages of production, and execution. The course addresses documentation, installation, and presentation. We discuss and practice skills that are important to maintaining a sustainable creative practice such as strong oral and written statements, contextualizing artwork within a larger art-historical framework, and identifying and creating communities of support.

Faculty
Claire Cowie cmcowie@uw.edu
Office ART 218, Office hours by request: Tues./Thurs. 11am – 12noon

Instructional Technician/Health and Safety (Printmaking, IVA, Painting + Drawing)
Kim van Someren
kimvs@uw.edu
Office: ART 210A, Office hours: Mon./Wed./Fri. 9am – 4pm, Tues./Thurs. 9am – 6pm

Commitment to Positive Learning
Our classroom environment should be mutually respectful and inclusive of all students. Diversity of all kinds is essential to a thriving creative and critical environment. Thoughtful questions and debate are encouraged. Please be responsible and act with accountability toward each other and the studio facilities.

School of Art Policies

Canvas
http://canvas.uw.edu
This is where you will find information for all your classes, such as the course calendar, assignments, grades, announcements, and files. Students and faculty can initiate a discussion board.
For our class, look for ART 400 in the course drop-down menu.

Art Advising
uaskart@uw.edu
Mon. - Fri. 8am – 4pm Room 104

Art Building Hours
Mon. - Thurs. 7am – 7pm, Fri. 7am – 5pm, Sat. 1pm – 5pm, Sun. 9am – 5pm
Closed on all UW holidays
To work after hours, have your Husky Card programmed for After Hours Access (card swipe at loading dock on N side of building). Room 102 (For: After Hours Access activation, locker rental, purchasing supplies, etc.)

Grading Policy
Receiving full credit is based upon excellent participation and total responsibility in all aspects of the course and completion of all exercises throughout the quarter. Students will have graded checkpoints at various times throughout the quarter and will be evaluated based on meeting the expectations at each point. Short writing and research exercises will supplement the mostly studio-based practice. Assignment details will be given verbally, in hardcopy, and posted to Canvas as they are assigned and grades will be posted to Canvas regularly.

ART 400 Calendar

Thurs. Sept 28
General Course Info., Kim van Someren: Access, handouts, introductions, Idea Sharing with group
Tues. Oct. 3
Meet at Sand Point Gallery at 3:00pm
(75 Northgate bus leaves Stevens Way in front of Padelford Hall at 2:30)
Thurs. Oct. 5
Proposals and questionnaires due (all quizzes/forms to Kim by
Fri. Oct 6)
Tues. Oct. 10
Workday
Thurs. Oct. 12
Progress presentations
Tues. Oct. 17
Artist Statement writing workshop
Thurs. Oct. 19
Workday
Tues. Oct. 24
Workday
Thurs. Oct. 26
Progress presentations
Tues. Oct. 31 Halloween
Thurs. Nov. 2
Workday
Tues. Nov. 7
Artist Statement writing workshop
Thurs. Nov. 9
Progress presentations
Tues. Nov. 14
Workday
Thurs. Nov. 16
Wall text and final statement due
Tues. Nov. 21
Artwork must be delivered to Sand Point Gallery between 2:30 and 3:00pm
Thurs. Nov. 23 No School/Thanksgiving Break
Tues. Nov. 28
Critiques at Sand Point 
Thurs. Nov. 30
Critiques at Sand Point
Fri. Dec. 1
5:00 – 7:00pm Sand Point Gallery Exhibition Reception
Tues. Dec. 5
Deinstallation (Removing work and returning gallery to original condition)
Thurs. Dec. 7
Artist Research Presentations (5 minutes to show work by one influential artist)
Final: Tues. Dec. 12 4:30 – 6:20pm
Studio clean-up, written self-evaluations due, teaching evaluations in-class

Catalog Description: 
Focuses on the development of exhibition quality artwork, culminating in a group show. Covers curatorial issues, installation, and presentation. Assignments are designed to strengthen oral presentation skills, artist's written statement, critiquing abilities, and ability to place work within a larger art historical framework.
GE Requirements: 
Visual, Literary, and Performing Arts (VLPA)
Credits: 
5.0
Status: 
Active
Last updated: 
January 10, 2018 - 9:12pm

AddToAny

Share